Game four

Played (my) Game 4 last night. Here’s how it went down:

Home – I check the location of the arena, so I know where I’m going before I leave. The team’s schedule says it’s in north Calgary. Google Maps makes it look closer to Edmonton. It’s literally out in the country. There’s farm pasture right beside the arena complex. I can see livestock.

Change Room – I missed the last two games and the team won both of ‘em. Egged on by my teammate and brother-in-law, the entire team claims they won because I wasn’t there. Ha. Ha. Ha. It’s nice to be back with these clowns. Everyone comments on the location. Someone says it’s so far north that he saw a polar bear on the way up here. Another guy says he started driving to the game earlier in the day. Jokers all around.

1st Period – Within the first two minutes we go up 2-0. Well, that’s weird. It’s never happened before. I stifle the urge to think we have it sewn up. Could we win this thing in the first period? A 10-goal differential halts the game. Maybe? But then why did I drive to Northern Alberta for 15 minutes of hockey?

2nd Period – We go back and forth and bring the game to a 4-4 tie. The opposing team has two guys scoring all their goals and who can really skate. Stupid ringers. You can tell because they’re wearing blank jerseys. We don’t like ringers around here. Also their goalie is the size of a house! He's a really solid dude and there's almost nowhere to shoot. This game is fun.

3rd Period – All the action happens here. We go into a 6-6 tie and end up pulling our goalie in the last minute of the game. They score on an empty net, but we keep the goalie out. We go on the rush and a hard battle ensues in front of their net. There’s pushing, shoving, and chirping before the ref blows the whistle and sends one guy from each team to the sin bin. My goodness. Such intensity in the waning seconds of the game. Could have used it earlier. More beaking in the box – these guys are fired up now. The ref yells at ‘em to “SHUT UP!”. Think they’re smart enough to listen? Heck no. This is beer league! The whistle blows again. Both guys get 10-minute game misconducts and its goodnight for them. Final tally is 8-6, but a good game was had. And it wouldn't be my team if my presence wasn't blamed for the loss. What a bunch of ass hats.

We play again tomorrow night. Hopefully they leave the ringers at home this time.

Edit: Not because he complained, but I have to give a shout out to my amazing brother-in-law's three point night (2G, 1A). Way to go, you're an all-star.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Game seven

Game five